September 25, 2015

Book Blogger Shoutouts, Baby! Edition #44 - Blog Design, Reading Diversely, and Blog Evolution


 In Shout Outs you will find book reviews, discussion posts, blogger events, and giveaways from bloggers across the web. I read a lot of blogs and I like to give love when I find a post I really like or admire. I also like to make you abreast of events and giveaways because those are awesome, too.  If you leave a comment during the week, I will give you a personal shout out on this post each Friday. Commenters are also eligible to receive a bookish prize pack.

 PLEASE NOTE: I am no longer disregarding posts I missed in the last 2 weeks and only giving shout-outs to those this week alone. I often don't have time to comb through every single blog every week. So, announcement made, carry on.

I hope you find something interesting, exciting, and thought-provoking in the posts below!  

-xoxo Becca


ENTERTAINING BOOK REVIEWS

 

1. Under This Roof by Paul Brandus @ A Reader's Journal
"Don't expect in depth explanations of events.  Do expect interesting tidbits about our presidents and their terms in office and what was happening to their residency.  Expect an interesting and compelling  read."

2. Days of Awe by Lauren Fox @ Book Chatter
"There is a slight meandering quality to the story but it felt right to me. When you lose a loved one, you find yourself floating through life and the narration has that same feel. Isabel is just floating along, trying to make sense of her loss and I must say, her pain is quite evident and raw and just so tangible."

 3. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert @ Books Speak Volumes
"Instead of writing a traditional review, I’d like to let Gilbert speak for herself. Here are five quotes, each taken from a different section of the book!"

4. Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates @ The Book Wheel
I appreciate Allison's honesty and humbleness and openness in this review.  Sounds like a very important read and I can't wait to read it myself.
 
5. Why Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff Left Me Utterly Conflicted @ Sarah's Book Shelves
"The first section (Fates) was a 2 or 3 star slog, but the second section (Furies) is unquestionably a 5 star read. Overall, pushing through the beginning was worth it for me and I’m adding it to my Book Club Recommendation List."

6. The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman @ The Narrative Causality
"Well I am not sure I could gush, rave, totally fan girl out any more about this book."


7. Nameless by Jennifer Jenkins is Intense and Not to be Missed @ The Starry-Eyed Revue
 "Nameless isn't perfect, but it was exhilarating and fun and completely frustrating in the best possible way."

8. I Am Henry Finch by Alexis Deacon @ Bermudaonion's Weblog
 "I think this picture book has a strong message that encourages individuality so I recommend it for the older picture book crowd."

9. Girl in the Woods by Aspen Matts @ Book Snob
 "The woods is a healing force in Girl in the Woods.  This book had me turning pages as fast as I could."




If Ralph Ellison’s invisible man had no voice thirty years before the publication of The Color Purple, then Walker has located in Celie a person whose presence is even less acknowledged by society: the black, poor lesbian. - See more at: http://www.bibliofreak.net/2015/08/review-color-purple-alice-walker.html#sthash.oLGdy4Y1.dpuf
If Ralph Ellison’s invisible man had no voice thirty years before the publication of The Color Purple, then Walker has located in Celie a person whose presence is even less acknowledged by society: the black, poor lesbian. - See more at: http://www.bibliofreak.net/2015/08/review-color-purple-alice-walker.html#sthash.oLGdy4Y1.dpuf
AWESOME DISCUSSION/NON-REVIEW POSTS:




1. Let's Obsess About Blog Design @ It Starts at Midnight

2. The Evolution of Readers in Wonderland (using the Wayback Machine) - very cool, I checked this blog,too!  @ Readers in Wonderland


3. Serial Reading - My Ideas @ The Boston Bibliophile

4. OTPs? More like BROTPs @ The Thousand Lives

5. Read-Alikes: Recs Adult Fiction for YA Lovers (and vice-versa) @ The Social Potato 



6. Wherein I Review Food (As if It Were a Book) @ Paper Fury



UPCOMING/CURRENT EVENTS:

3a
Playing to Beat the Banned (Banned Books Week Event!)
@ Book Journey



MORE CURRENT EVENTS:
Community Calendar



WIN! GIVEAWAYS!

Win A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston! | Giveaway

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston, plus a branded nail polish set and tea bag dispenser
 @ Katie's Book Blog
Ends Sept. 29th

GHOSTLIGHT cover

Ghostlight by Sonia Gensler @ The Book Monsters
Ends Oct. 4th



Hardcover of Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski
@ The Starry-Eyed Revue
Ends Oct 1




Dream Things True by Marie Marguardt
@ The Hollow Cupboards
Ends Sept. 30


MY COMMENTERS ROCK:
  Top Commenters of the Week are in Bold.

Anita LeBeau
Belle Wong
Bermudaonion (Kathy)
Blodeuedd
Bryan G. Robinson
Cait @ Paper Fury
Emily's Reading Room
Emma @ Words and Peace
Faye M. @ The Social Potato
Fictional 100/Lucy
Freda Mans-Labianca
guiltless reading
Joy Finlayson
Katherine P.
Litha
Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
Louise
Melinda @ West Metro Mommy
Melissa (My World in Words and Pages)
Michelle @ That's What She Read
Sarah's Book Shelves
Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight
Sue Jackson 
Tasha B.
The Book Wheel

 
 Thank you for leaving me comments this week! I appreciate it so much! 

 

2015 COMMENTER LEADERBOARD SO FAR


The top six (6) winners at the end of the year will receive fun bookish swag! The top two (2) winners will receive a paperback book from Indiebound or The Book Depository! Just my way of showing my appreciation!

1. Freda Mans 
2. Bermudaonion (Kathy)
3. Tasha B.
4. Belle Wong
5. Sarah's Book Shelves
6. Michelle @ That's What She Read

YOU! Could be on this list and win for 2015!
Leave comments, win prizes as thanks! 




Which posts/links are you going to/did you visit?  

1 comment:

  1. As always I enjoyed this post. Lots of interesting bloggers and post to discover here :)

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting! Leave a comment and share your thoughts with me!