April 8, 2015

Mademoiselle Chanel by C.W. Gortner - France Book Tours

I have always been fascinated with women in history who defied the odds and status quo and followed their passions and dreams.  Coco Chanel is one such woman.

You can tell as you are reading that Gortner loves the fashion industry.  His exuberance comes through in his writing. All of the details. I did not realize until reading the back cover jacket that Gortner used to be a fashion executive. I bet this was a very fun book for him to write.

I felt right in the middle of the fashion world the whole time but I also felt right in the middle of a real story.  I felt that Gortner wrote Chanel as a real, multi-faceted person, too.  She wasn't just a fashion designer - she was a sister, an orphan, a lover, a friend, with insecurities and confidence in turns - just like everyone has.  It made her feel like a real person and not just an icon.  Gortner has a talent for humanizing historical figures and that is what makes him a wonderful writer to me.




Author C.W. Gortner

on Tour
March 20-April 8, 2015
with

Mademoiselle Chanel

(historical fiction)
Release date: March 17, 2015
at William-Morrow/HarperCollins
384 pages
ISBN: 978-0062356406
***


SYNOPSIS

For readers of “The Paris Wife” and “Z” comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and became one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.
Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to an orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.
Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.
Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.
An enthralling novel of an extraordinary designer who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark. (provided by the author)
***

ADVANCE PRAISE

“Deliciously satisfying . . . The epic, rags-to-riches story of how this brilliant woman became a legend.”— Christina Baker Kline, NYT bestselling author of Orphan Train
“Richly imagined and deftly researched . . . unfolds with the elegance of a Chanel gown.” —Cathy Marie Buchanan, NYT bestselling author of The Painted Girls
“So electric and luminous . . . Divine!” – Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl
 ***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

C.W. Gortner is the international bestselling author of six historical novels,
translated in over twenty-five languages to date.
His new novel, “Mademoiselle Chanel”,
traces the tumultuous rise to fame of iconic fashion designer,
Coco Chanel.
In 2016, Random House will publish his eighth novel, “Vatican Princess”,
about Lucrezia Borgia.
Raised in Spain and a long-time resident of the Bay Area,
C.W. is also dedicated to companion animal rescue from overcrowded shelters.
Visit his website. Follow him on FacebookTwitter
Subscribe to his newsletter
Buy the bookHarperCollins  |  IndieBound  |  Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble
***

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting! Leave a comment and share your thoughts with me!